Germany adds 12 countries to ‘high risk’ Covid list

This post contains affiliate links. Read the full disclosure here.

Germany has added another 12 countries and regions to its list of “high risk” areas due to the spread of Covid-19, including Singapore, Oman, Pakistan and Ukraine.

The full list of the countries which were moved to Germany’s high-risk category on Sunday (30 January) is: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Cuba, New Caledonia (French overseas territory), Guatemala, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Singapore and Ukraine.

Travellers from countries and regions on this list must present proof of vaccination or recovery from Covid-19 to be able to enter Germany without having to go into self-isolation.

At the same time, 13 countries and regions in Africa have been removed from the high-risk category: Angola, Burundi, Eswatini, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Travellers from these countries can now enter Germany with no requirement to quarantine, even if they are not vaccinated or recently recovered from Covid.

The announcement of these changes was made by Germany’s Robert Koch Institute, the country’s disease prevention and control agency.

Nearly 150 countries around the world are still classified as being high-risk destinations by German authorities due to the spread of the Omicron variant, including most European countries.

Unvaccinated travellers from these countries must provide a negative Covid test result and are subject to a 10-day self-isolation period, although this can be cut short by a negative test on the fifth day.

All travellers from high-risk destinations, regardless of vaccination status, are required to fill out a digital registration form when they arrive in Germany.

source : businesstravelnewseurope

Follow me in social media :

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.